AV Technology Solutions (U.K) Limited
 
Reviews & Awards
JL Audio reviews
 CR-1®
 
JL Audio reviews Stereophile
Nov 2, 2016
Larry Greenhill

"JL Audio's CR-1 electronics crossover was a total surprise—I wondered where it had been all my life. It's beautifully made, sonically transparent, performs a critical role in the optimal setup of subwoofers, and has ergonomic bypass and mute functions that let you immediately hear the sonic improvements of good bass management. JL Audio's Fathom f212v2 subwoofer and CR-1 crossover are strongly recommended."


JL Audio reviews The Absolute Sound
Aug 25, 2015
Jonathan Valin

"...the Gothams and the CR-1 are tickets to a full-range bliss you've never before experienced, because, in my own experience, it's never before been available at this level of unalloyed satisfaction. Both the Gotham subs and JL's CR-1 crossover, obviously, get my highest, most unqualified, most enthusiastic recommendation. I just wish all of you could hear them!"


JL Audio reviews SoundStage! Ultra
Jan 01, 2015
Jeff Fritz
"Those who want to perfectly blend a powered subwoofer(s) with topflight main speakers in a high-end stereo system should consider as mandatory JL Audio’s CR-1 Active Subwoofer Crossover. It’s flexible, transparent, and intuitive to use. So grab an audio buddy, spend a few hours with a CR-1 to dial in your system to the nth degree, and you’ll surely be rewarded. If the rest of your components are up to snuff, when all’s said and done you’ll have a full-range system that can approach the sound of those big, superexpensive, multiway loudspeakers you can only dream of owning. The CR-1 puts incredible sound within your reach."

JL Audio reviews CANADA HiFi
Jun 10, 2013
"I have reviewed many fine subwoofers and although I enjoyed my time with many of them, I felt no tinge of regret when returning them. The f112s are different. They are not going anywhere as they have now become part of my reference system, until something better (which I can afford) comes along, which I suspect will not be for quite some time. Kudos JL Audio, your f112 combined with your CR-1 gives music lovers a means to integrate superior subs with main speakers in a way that delivers deep, visceral, accurate and distinctively tuneful bass performance in a manner that will give anyone with a heartbeat, many goose bump inducing musical moments."

JL Audio reviews
 Dominion® d108
 
JL Audio reviews Home Cinema Choice
June, 2016
Adam Rayner

"So in addition to its pretty looks and capable controls, the Dominion d108 sub is astonishingly good in output. Played unseen, I might have thought it was subwoofer with a 12in driver and a solid amp."


JL Audio reviews SoundStage! Access
Apr 01, 2016
Hans Wetzel

"The Dominion d108 could be part of the ultimate 2.1-channel system for the common audiophile. Given the level of performance it was able to muster in my system, and the fact that it’s the smallest, least expensive subwoofer JL Audio makes, I worry for the competition."


JL Audio reviews Audio Video Revolution
Mar 30, 2016
Andre Marc

"If you are looking for the last missing piece for your system -- the sense of lifelike weight and scale -- and don't want to break the bank, I can’t possibly recommend the JL Audio Dominion subwoofer series highly enough."


JL Audio reviews
 Dominion® d110
 
JL Audio reviews TONEAudio Magazine
June, 2016
Rob Johnson

"A wolf in sheep’s clothing”

“Dominions do a marvelous job, even when mated with main speakers several times their price.”

Reference Tone Audio Magazine Issue No. 77 June 2016 pages 186 to 193.


JL Audio reviews Soundstage!Access
April, 2016
Howard Kneller

"It stands among the best of a large class of highly able competitors, and might even be the very best of that small bunch."


JL Audio reviews
 E-Sub® e110
 
JL Audio reviews The Absolute Sound
Jun 02, 2014
Jonathan Valin

"The E-Sub e110 is a no-brainer highest recommendation if ever I heard one. And remember this is coming from someone who hates subwoofers (or used to)."


JL Audio reviews CNET
May 03, 2014
Steve Guttenberg

"if I had to sum up the e110's sound in one word it would be precise. Bass notes start and stop on a dime, drum beats sound like sticks hitting a drum head."

"...I have to say JL Audio's "baby" e110 sounded like a heavyweight to me."

"...the e110's bass clarity and definition put it in a different class."


JL Audio reviews Sound & Vision
Feb 21, 2014
Daniel Kumin

"The e110 joined my system for nearly a full month, and the longer I listened, the more impressed I became. Musical deep bass, whether from Richard Strauss’ Also Sprach Zarathustra or Saint-Saëns’ Organ Symphony, was convincingly complete, with even the lowest fundamental tones geologically solid and fully accounted for."

"This one's a keeper. 'Merican-made, too".

JL Audio reviews GoodSound SoundStage
Dec 01, 2013
Kevin East
"JL Audio’s E-Sub e110 is a terrific component. If $1500 is your price point, then you’re missing something special if you don’t give it a listen. Recommended."

JL Audio reviews
 E-Sub® e112
 
JL Audio reviews The Absolute Sound
Apr 20, 2015
Robert Harley

"This subwoofer takes excellent performance up several notches, reproducing the dynamic, textural, and tonal nuances in acoustic or electric bass playing. Despite “light on its feet” agility, the e112 also delivers tremendous bottom-end authority. It’s this combination of finesse and impact that makes the e112 such a stand-out in a crowded field-and at an eminently affordable price."


JL Audio reviews Home Theater Shack
Mar 03, 2014
Jim Wilson
"Being a fiend for accuracy and precision meant the E112 and I got along very well. It was near impossible to make this thing sound bad. To be honest, I'm not sure if I ever did; as you crank up the volume it just gets louder and louder, yet it never loses composure."

JL Audio is renown for sound quality and the E112 is no exception, clearly adhering to the company ethos. Regardless of what I played, how high or low the volume, how challenging and complex the passage, dynamics and transient response were superb. The output was always nimble, never once being confused or overwhelmed by what I had chosen. I don't lightly bestow the term "musical" on any subwoofer, but the E112 certainly fits my description of the word.


JL Audio reviews SoundStage! Network
2013

Exceptional Value: Subwoofers

JL Audio E-Sub e112 subwoofer: Whenever I read do-it-yourselfers' proclamations that they can build subwoofers of their own design that better, at lower cost, the models from JL Audio, I laugh. Those folks fail to recognize the value of such things as warranties and good resale values. But even setting aside these practical considerations, the E-Sub e112 ($1900-$2100, depending on finish) sounds superb, easily besting in overall sound quality what I've heard from 90% of the subwoofers out there. Despite its entry-level placement in JLA's line of home models, this is one serious sub.


JL Audio reviews SoundStage! Network
Oct 01, 2013
Jeff Fritz
"At the end of the day, the E-Sub e112 is an output beast with fidelity to match. That’s worth the asking price in most any system. In fact, its performance makes the e112 the no-brainer buy of the year."

JL Audio reviews
 Fathom® f110
 
JL Audio reviews Home Cinema Choice
Feb, 2013
Adam Rayner
"The Fathom F110 is like a 10in active sub on steroids. The cone goes in and out more. It goes faster. it stops more quickly and with its powerful amplifier can switch from a mere loud rumble to a massive wavefront of bass in the blink of any eye."

JL Audio reviews Home Theater Review
2011
Chosen by editorial staff for coveted 2011 Best of 2011 Award

JL Audio reviews Home Theater Review
June 24, 2011
Andrew Robinson
"While some will probably feel spending $2,000 on a subwoofer is nothing short of insanity, others will no doubt see it as a bargain. I'm inclined to side with the latter for it's the subwoofer I would choose for any reference two-channel or home theater system regardless of price. Recommended? Hell yes."

JL Audio reviews GoodSound Soundstage
May 01, 2010
Vade Forrester
"It’s not the cheapest 10" subwoofer on the market, but I challenge you to find a better one at its price -- or at any price. I haven’t."

JL Audio reviews Secrets of Home Theater
and High Fidelity
Sep 17, 2009
Michael Galvin
"I understand it may be difficult to understand this fully, so I will just say that not only had I never heard subwoofers enrich the stereo experience like this, I didn’t even know it could be done. My understanding was that, at most, a subwoofer might add a layer of bottom end to the presentation of the mains. I also believed that this was very difficult to make seamless. In years past, I sat for several of such demonstrations and was unimpressed as it was never seamless and it never sounded musical to me. I’m not talking ancient history either, this was as recently as a few years ago. I don’t know if JL Audio did this on their own, but folks, I'm here to announce that the world has changed."

JL Audio reviews Tone Audio
2009
Jeff Dorgay
"The F110’s exceeded my expectations by a considerable margin and are not only the most musical subwoofers I’ve had the privilege of using, but by far the easiest to set up."

 Fathom® f112
 
JL Audio reviews Canada Hifi
June 10, 2013
Malcolm J. Gomes
"I have reviewed many fine subwoofers and although I enjoyed my time with many of them, I felt no tinge of regret when returning them. The f112s are different. They are not going anywhere as they have now become part of my reference system, until something better (which I can afford) comes along, which I suspect will not be for quite some time. Kudos JL Audio, your f112 combined with your CR-1 gives music lovers a means to integrate superior subs with main speakers in a way that delivers deep, visceral, accurate and distinctively tuneful bass performance in a manner that will give anyone with a heartbeat, many goose bump inducing musical moments."

JL Audio reviews The Absolute Sound
2008, 2009 & 2012
Editors' Choice Award Winner

JL Audio reviews CEPro
May 23, 2011
Robert Archer
"I’m not going to mince words about the Fathom f112: It may be the best sub on the market."

JL Audio reviews Home Theater Sound
Dec, 2009
Aron Garrecht
"the single Fathom f112 I have has become my reference subwoofer. If you’re in the market for a wonderfully versatile subwoofer that offers deep, controlled, powerful bass, looks classy, and is impeccably built, JL Audio’s Fathom f112 deserves to be on your short list."

JL Audio reviews Home Theater Review
Oct 20, 2008
Jerry Del Colliano
"This subwoofer is a total monster. Powerful and able to move some serious air, the JL Audio Fathom f112 at its price is a killer. Yes, it's an expensive woofer, but it also is fast, deep and has the spank to get you as low (and as loud) as you ever might want to go for your music and movies."

JL Audio reviews The Perfect Vision
Aug 21, 2008
Chris Martens
"The bottom line is that JL Audio’s Fathom f112 offers benchmark performance in terms of bass extension, power, transient speed, and clarity. It is beautifully made, easy to use, and gives surefire results on music and movies."

JL Audio reviews Secrets of Home Theater
and High Fidelity
Apr 13, 2008
Colin Miller
"How can I summarise best? The JL Audio Fathom f112 subwoofers are awesome, and severely well-rounded. They are my favourites to date, period."

JL Audio reviews SoundStageAV
July 01, 2007
Wes Marshall
"In fact, the Fathom JL f112 is the best subwoofer I’ve ever used. It exudes quality, from its elegant cabinetwork to the transparent way it handles whatever dynamic sounds you throw at it without any sense of strain. My long-term reference sub, the Sunfire Signature, now sounds anemic. I’m now spoiled for any other sub."

JL Audio reviews Audioholics
Mar 24, 2007
David
"I am pleased to say, the f112 will be making a home in my reference system. It makes for a fine benchmark against which other high performance subwoofers will be judged."

JL Audio reviews Sound+Vision Magazine
Nov 3, 2006
Daniel Kumin
"This is a hell of a good subwoofer. If you've got the scratch to buy it and the abs to unpack and install it, you won't be sorry."

 Fathom® f113 reviews
 Fathom® f113
 
JL Audio reviews Stereophile
Dec 30, 2015
Kalman Rubinson
“JL Audio's Fathom f113v2 is everything good from the Fathom f113 and more. DARO is a huge and needed improvement, and the backward-compatibility with the v1 is appreciated. In 2006, I hadn't thought I needed a subwoofer—and certainly not two. Now, it's hard to imagine listening without at least one Fathom f113v2. This is one accessory that does realize its potential to improve my system.”

JL Audio reviews The Absolute Sound
2008, 2009 & 2012
Editors' Choice Award Winner

JL Audio reviews The Perfect Vision
Aug 21, 2008
Chris Martens
"The bottom line is that JL Audio’s Fathom f113 offers benchmark performance in terms of bass extension, power, transient speed, and clarity. It is beautifully made, easy to use, and gives surefire results on music and movies."

JL Audio reviews Secrets of Home Theater
and High Fidelity
Jul 09, 2008
John E. Johnson Jr.
"With no reservation, and by every standard, this is a world class subwoofer. It has massive output, low distortion, and all from a mid-sized enclosure."

JL Audio reviews Audio Video Revolution
Sep 01, 2007
Mike Levy
"The JL Audio Fathom 113 dollar for dollar is the best subwoofer I have heard on the market. If you are in the market for any of the top-of-the-line audiophile products, you owe it to yourself to go out and take a test drive with the Fathom 113. It has the power to knock your socks off. It has the finesse to make your best speakers sound even better."

JL Audio reviews Stereophile
Sep, 2007
Larry Greenhill
"Two JL Audio Fathom f113 subwoofers produced dramatic changes in my audio system. Never before had new audio gear reshaped the depth and width of the soundstage, doubled the dynamic range, and increased the transparency, all at the same time."

JL Audio reviews Home Theater
May 21, 2007
Mark Fleischmann
"Action movies lost that one-note quality that so often leads to irritation and boredom. The bottom end of pretty much any kind of music took on more definition and shape, even with the lowest string of the lowest instrument. Suddenly relieved of bad-sub stress, I became less stressed. I felt a renewed appreciation for artists and engineers because I could hear more of what they'd intended me to hear. Over time, my expectations changed. I now have a broader frame of reference for what a sub can accomplish. This will not make subsequent reviewing any easier. Couldn't I just stay here forever?"

JL Audio reviews The Absolute Sound
Mar, 2007
Robert Harley
"Although capable of great delicacy and nuance, the Fathom had a bottom-end solidity, power and iron-fisted control in the lowermost octave that was jaw-dropping."

JL Audio reviews Home Theater Sound
Oct, 2006
Randall Smith
"The JL Audio Fathom f113 is the single best A/V product I have experienced. The improvement it made to my home-theater system was stunning. I’ve never heard better."

Product of the Year – January 2007

JL Audio reviews Home Theater
2006
Mark Fleischmann
Best Sound of Show – CEDIA 2006 Show Report

 Fathom® f212 reviews
 Fathom® f212
 
JL Audio reviews Home Cinema Choice
Dec, 2012
Adam Rayner
"To sum up, the F212 is a reference-grade subwoofer with velvet-covered hammers in its face. I struggle to think of a better-sounding product. JL Audio is finally here. Be afraid, be very afraid."

JL Audio reviews Home Theater
Mar 13, 2012
Darryl Wilkinson
"JL Audio’s Fathom f212 is more than just one hell of a subwoofer—it’s one hell of an experience."

JL Audio reviews Secrets of Home Theater
and High Fidelity
Nov 2, 2010
John E. Johnson Jr.
"It is expensive, but notwithstanding, even just one of these subs will satisfy the most critical of home theater aficionados. The f212 is one of the finest subwoofers in the world."

JL Audio reviews Stereophile
Apr 20, 2010
Larry Greenhill
"The Fathom f212 has raised the performance quality of my audio system, and my enjoyment of it, to much higher levels."

 Fathom® f212v2 reviews
 Fathom® f212v2
 
JL Audio reviews Stereophile
Nov 2, 2016
Larry Greenhill

"The Fathom f212v2's bass resolution was revelatory. When I played Don Dorsey's "Ascent," performed by Erich Kunzel and the Cincinnati Pops on their Time Warp collection (CD, Telarc CD-80106), the JLAs' imaging let me better distinguish the positions of the synth beats that move from side to side. Dynamics ranged from soft murmurs to a thunderous rumble as the synths blended into the sustained 31.7Hz organ note that begins Strauss's Also sprach Zarathustra on that same disc."

“The JL Audio combo of Fathom f212v2 and CR-1 strongly benefited the quality, scale, detailing, and full power of orchestral music by enhancing the depth and width of the soundstage while revealing ambience cues. I felt and heard the jaw-tightening mass of the bass-drum strokes in the second section of Stravinsky's The Rite of Spring, performed by Eiji Oue and the Minnesota Orchestra (DVD with 24/96 WAV file, Reference RR-70 HDCD). They burst into my listening room as dense, concussive thuds with clean, defined leading edges.”


JL Audio reviews Home Cinema Choice
July, 2016
Adam Rayner
"Perhaps the real sign of this sub's class was experienced in the Star Wars scene with Snoke. All that DSP cleverness bears fruit, with the taut accuracy of the abyssal lows making the space feel more cavernous than a cathedral. You can literally feel the size of the space the characters are in, in a way that defies simple description but gives acoustic agoraphobia. In short, this is a wonderful device fully deserving of its v2 label. It's suited to largescale home cinema, but also means you could have smaller speakers than floorstanders and still enjoy reference-grade audio. I loved it to bits, except for having to move it around"

 Gotham® g213 reviews
 Gotham® g213
 
JL Audio reviews The Absolute Sound
2008, 2009 & 2012
Editors' Choice Award Winner

JL Audio reviews Tone Audio
2009
Jeff Dorgay
"Top of the Mountain"
"The Gotham is a fantastic product that can transform whatever system in which it is placed, no matter how good. If you have the room and the extra power to support it, it is one of the rare pieces of high-end audio gear that will take you somewhere you have never been. Highly recommended."

JL Audio reviews Home Theater Review
Oct 17, 2008
Andrew Robinson
"One of the fastest subwoofers I've ever encountered, regardless of price. There are many subs that cost way more than the Gotham that can't match its level of performance and output."

JL Audio reviews Ultra Audio
Apr 1, 2008
Jeff Fritz
"The Gotham g213 produces state-of-the-art bass that will improve the highest of high-end systems. I’ve heard no other subwoofer that can match it."

JL Audio reviews The Perfect Vision
Apr 1, 2008
Neil Gader
CEDIA 2004 Best Sound